Nina Wong (Chindian) + Andrew (jP American Bistro) = Brilliant Company Event

I was dining at my favorite Minneapolis restaurant and asked Andrew if he knew anyone that could cater an 80-100 person event at my office. Without hesitation he said “you should talk to Nina Wong, she does some really amazing Asian/Indian fusion. And oh by the way…I can run the bar.” I thought “wow” that is a fantastic idea.

Nina and Andrew were an amazing team. Nina created a collection of 7 impressive passed hors d’oeuvres. Andew designed custom cocktails and paired wine and beer.

The menu included:

  • King Crab California Rolls
  • Spicy Peanut Chicken Skewers
  • Tofu Spring Rolls
  • Shrimp Toasts with Ginger Mustard Aioli
  • Pumpkin Cream Cheese Wontons
  • Tuna Tartar on Thin Rice Crackers
  • Indian Curry Beef Puff

Each item was skillfully prepared and reasonably easy to eat without silverware. My favorite in the group was the tuna. It was flavorful and fresh. Six actually made a nice dinner. The pumpkin cream cheese wontons were a nice touch of Fall comfort food and worked well with the Asian theme. I also enjoyed the California rolls. Along with the tuna they created a nice sushi experience.

I highly recommend going to Nina’s Minneapolis restaurant Chindian Café.

The food and the drinks were perfectly matched and a nice change from the standard catered fare. We had Andew pair a white and red wine along with a light and dark beer selection. The showstoppers were Andrew’s custom made cocktails. He did a variation on a gin and tonic complete with house made pickled fennel, cucumber and mango. He also created a Vodka drink with Apple cider, sour and some secret ingredients he would not disclose. You’ll have to go to jPs and ask him for one. This drink really surprised me because I don’t like vodka all that much. The initial idea of it with Apple Cider seemed like an odd combination. The end product was a light and refreshing drink with just a hint of fall.

What impressed me most about Nina and her team was how smooth and tactical they were. Service was flawless and professional. Before the event she surveyed our space and made recommendations for tables, bar placement and traffic flow. All of the rental equipment was handled and they left our office in the same condition it was in when they got there. What was even more impressive was the fact that the servers were all really friendly and they made our guests feel at home. If you are looking to create an event I highly recommend the Nina + Andrew dynamic duo…. guaranteed success.

2 responses to “Nina Wong (Chindian) + Andrew (jP American Bistro) = Brilliant Company Event

  1. Pumkin cream cheese wontons? Brilliant! I must try to make these. I have pumpkins around from my farmshare here in southern California that I’m trying to make use of in interesting ways. What other flavors were involved? Do you think they would work well with a bit of sage in the mix?

  2. Yes, they were Brilliant! They were very light, not the typical spicy pumpkin filling. The texture of the filling was also very smooth. I can try and find out what is in them. I think adding something like sage would be interesting but I would advise in very small delicate amounts.

Leave a Reply

